Mawphlang

IMG_3065

I work in the field of social research, and one of the perks of my job is that it allows me to go to remote places where most people wouldn’t think of going. It also gives me the chance to meet people from remote, rural areas and my time spent in these places has given me the most valuable lessons in life. The smiles I’ve seen have been the widest and most genuine. The people I’ve met were the kindest and I’ve seen their kindness extend to stray dogs and cats. In fact it would be wrong to use the word ‘stray’ because the dogs and cats belong to the village and are taken care of by everyone. I judge people by how kind they are to animals and the kindest people I’ve seen have been those in villages 🙂

IMG_3016

Parts of Mawphlang are actually quite barren and a share a landscape very similar to Ladhakh. Pictured above are houses in one of the villages. IMG_3245

The picture above is actually someone’s house. At first when I saw those few sheets of tin I didn’t think anyone was living there, till I saw a little face pop out from behind the tin sheet. And then another, and another till there were 7 little faces staring and smiling at me. The parents had probably gone out to work and the children were home alone. We played a game where we made faces at each other, ran around, laughed till our stomachs hurt and finally went back home 🙂IMG_3063IMG_3021IMG_3264

Every place we went to offered us food till we could eat no more. Pictured above we have tea, a local delicacy called “Putharo” which are basically rice cakes and the purple potatoes are actually yam 🙂

Leave a comment